International Entertainment Buyers Awards revealed the winners of its annual industry awards on Tuesday, Oct. 2 in Nashville. The ceremony was hosted by magician Mike Super, winner of NBC’s TV series Phenomenon, at the conference’s new location, the J.W. Marriott in Music City.

The night’s big winners included SMG who won for Arena of the Year (BOK Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma) and Amphitheater of the Year (Greek Theater in Los Angeles). Nashville’s own Marathon Music Works took home the award for Club of the Year.

300×250 See Tickets May Image 4

“Ten years ago we wanted to do a great room here at home and this means we did,” said Chris Cobb, co-owner of the 1,800-capacity Marathon Music Works.

AEG also took home multiple awards with Corporate Buyer of the Year going to Michael Boltzman of AEG Presents and Ali Harnell snagging the Promoter of the Year for the second time in her career.

“A venue manager is only as good as they work with and I have such an amazing team,” Tacoma Dome’s Kim Bedier, who accepted the award for Venue Executive of the Year, tells Amplify. “We have this renovation going on and we so appreciate the commitment the city has made to this really iconic building that they have allowed us to be stewards of. We are really excited for the future.”

In addition to the awards, IEBA inducted industry veterans into their Hall of Fame. Bonnie Brosious, Ray Shelide, Bonnie Sugarman were the 2018 inductees. The band Lynyrd Skynyrd were also in attendance to accept their IEBA Hall of Fame award.

Trying to recite his thank you speech, Lynyrd Skynyrd member Gary Rossington said, “I can’t read very well since we quit school to start a rock and roll band,” before thanking executives who have made his career possible.

“This year’s ceremony was uniquely special. Not only did we get to honor those who work tirelessly behind the scenes with our Industry Awards, but the announcement of three new permanently endowed scholarships through our Educational Outreach Fund makes us even more thrilled,” IEBA executive director, Pam Matthews tells Amplify. “Plus, the induction of a wonderful Hall of Fame class – complete with Lynyrd Skynyrd – is truly cherry on the top.”

Check out the full list of winners below.

Club of the Year
Marathon Music Works – Nashville, TN

Casino of the Year
Talking Stick Resort and Casino – Scottsdale, AZ

Ryman Auditorium Theater of the Year
Durham Performing Arts Center – Durham, NC

Arena of the Year
BOK Center – Tulsa, OK

Amphitheater of the Year
The Greek Theatre – Los Angeles, CA

Fair of the Year
Minnesota State Fair – St. Paul, MN

Festival of the Year
New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival – New Orleans, LA

Club Buyer of the Year
Jim Mallonee – House of Blues

Casino Buyer of the Year- TIE
Kell Houston – Houston Productions
Randy Wright – Integrity Events

Corporate Buyer of the Year
Michael Boltzman – AEG Presents

International Buyer of the Year
Ron Sakamoto – Gold & Gold Productions (Canada)

Fair Buyer of the Year
R.J. Romeo – Romeo Entertainment Group

Festival Buyer of the Year
Roger LeBlanc – Madison Entertainment

Venue Executive of the Year
Kim Bedier – Tacoma Dome, Cheney Stadium, Pantages and Rialto Theaters, & Theater on the Square

Young Professional of the Year
Paige Ryan – Paradigm Talent Agency

Talent Agent of the Year
Jay Williams – WME

Promoter of the Year
Ali Harnell – AEG Presents